Synthesis, Characterization, and Modeling of Complex Amorphous Semiconductors for Future Device Applications

Project Personnel

Julia Medvedeva

Principal Investigator

Missouri University of Science and Technology


Matthew Grayson

Northwestern University


Robert Chang

Northwestern University


Funding Divisions

Division of Materials Research (DMR), Office of Multidisciplinary Activities (OMA), Electrical, Communications and Cyber Systems (ECCS), Office of Advanced Cyberinfrastructure (OAC)

Unlike Si-based semiconductors, amorphous oxide semiconductors exhibit optical, electrical, thermal, and mechanical properties that are comparable or even superior to those possessed by their crystalline counterparts. Most notably, carrier mobility of amorphous oxide semiconductors is an order of magnitude larger than that of amorphous hydrogenated silicon commonly used in solar cells and flat-panel displays. Within unified theoretical and experimental framework, this project aims to establish genomic deposition-structure-property relationships in complex amorphous oxide and chalcogenide semiconductors in order to systematically record and organize the data into a searchable database. The research will integrate controlled synthesis, advanced characterization, multi-scale modeling, time-dependent studies, and accurate first-principles calculations to provide microscopic understanding of the complex interplay between the nanostructure, morphology, and electron transport regimes across the entire crystalline-to-amorphous transition. Development of realistic approaches for non-stoichiometric-melt cooling and time-dependent statistical analysis, will enable studies of defect formation and dynamics, ion diffusion, structural evolution and stretched-exponential relaxation, phase transformation, and crystallization processes, bringing the computer-aided design of amorphous materials to a new level. The PIs plan to release the Amorphous Structure Analysis (AStA) as open source and build a user community around the language by ensuring that interested researchers are able to contribute to AStA codebase. This will allow a wider growth of the project. This aspect is of special interest to the software cluster in the Office of Advanced Cyberinfrastructure, which has provided co-funding for this award.


MoO2 as a thermally stable oxide electrode for dynamic random-access memory capacitors
W. Lee, C. J. Cho, W. C. Lee, C. S. Hwang, R. P. H. Chang, and S. K. Kim
Hydrogen Behavior at Crystalline/Amorphous Interface of Transparent Oxide Semiconductor and Its Effects on Carrier Transport and Crystallization
Experimental and theoretical evidence for hydrogen doping in polymer solution-processed indium gallium oxide
W. Huang, P. Chien, K. McMillen, S. Patel, J. Tedesco, L. Zeng, S. Mukherjee, B. Wang, Y. Chen, G. Wang, Y. Wang, Y. Gao, M. J. Bedzyk, D. M. DeLongchamp, Y. Hu, J. E. Medvedeva, T. J. Marks, and A. Facchetti
Synergistic Boron Doping of Semiconductor and Dielectric Layers for High-Performance Metal Oxide Transistors: Interplay of Experiment and Theory
X. Zhang, B. Wang, W. Huang, Y. Chen, G. Wang, L. Zeng, W. Zhu, M. J. Bedzyk, W. Zhang, J. E. Medvedeva, A. Facchetti, and T. J. Marks
Structure–Charge Transport Relationships in Fluoride-Doped Amorphous Semiconducting Indium Oxide: Combined Experimental and Theoretical Analysis
A. Sil, L. Avazpour, E. A. Goldfine, Q. Ma, W. Huang, B. Wang, M. J. Bedzyk, J. E. Medvedeva, A. Facchetti, and T. J. Marks
Fluoride Doping in Crystalline and Amorphous Indium Oxide Semiconductors
A. Sil, M. J. Deck, E. A. Goldfine, C. Zhang, S. V. Patel, S. Flynn, H. Liu, P. Chien, K. R. Poeppelmeier, V. P. Dravid, M. J. Bedzyk, J. E. Medvedeva, Y. Hu, A. Facchetti, and T. J. Marks
Structure and electronic properties of amorphous strontium titanate
J. E. Medvedeva, B. Bhattarai, I. A. Zhuravlev, F. Motti, P. Torelli, A. Guarino, A. Klein, E. Di Gennaro, and F. M. Granozio
Origin of high carrier concentration in amorphous wide-bandgap oxides: Role of disorder in defect formation and electron localization in In2O3−x
J. E. Medvedeva, I. A. Zhuravlev, C. Burris, D. B. Buchholz, M. Grayson, and R. P. H. Chang
Role of Fluoride Doping in Low-Temperature Combustion-Synthesized ZrOx Dielectric Films
A. Sil, E. A. Goldfine, W. Huang, M. J. Bedzyk, J. E. Medvedeva, A. Facchetti, and T. J. Marks
Realizing the Heteromorphic Superlattice: Repeated Heterolayers of Amorphous Insulator and Polycrystalline Semiconductor with Minimal Interface Defects
W. Lee, X. Chen, Q. Shao, S. Baik, S. Kim, D. Seidman, M. Bedzyk, V. Dravid, J. B. Ketterson, J. Medvedeva, R. P. H. Chang, and M. A. Grayson

View All Publications